Of dogs and guns

A friend in Philadelphia was out walking her dog when a pit bull streaked out of an open door, knocked her to the ground, and went for her small dog’s throat.

As the three of them were thrashing in combat on the ground, a passerby said: “Can I help? I have a gun.”

“Yes,” she shouted, “Shoot the pit bull!”

“Oh no,” the passerby replied, “I could never shoot a dog.”

I wonder why he asked if he could help. I guess he was waiting to shoot a human.

Another passerby grabbed a sharp stick and shoved the end into the snarling mouth of the pit bull, which then let go of its canine victim to chew on the stick.

The story has several morals:

1) People who keep pit bulls in their houses should keep their doors closed.

2) A stick well used is more effective than a gun not used.

3) Walk your dog quietly and carry a pointed stick.

About politicswestchesterview

Nathaniel regards himself as a progressive Democrat who sees a serious need to involve more Americans in the political process if we are to rise to Ben Franklin's challenge "A republic, madam, if you can keep it," after a passerby asked him what form of government the founders had chosen. This blog gives my views and background information on the local, state, and national political scenes. My career in higher education was mainly in the areas of international studies, foreign languages, and student advising, most recently at Franklin & Marshall College in Lancaster, from which I retired in 2006. I have lived in West Chester since 1986.
This entry was posted in Crime and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.